Clare strand

CLARE STRAND:
“BETWEEN INTENTION AND REALISATION”

 

REGISTRATIONS ARE CLOSED.

[3-DAY ONLINE WORKSHOP]
CLARE STRAND: BETWEEN INTENTION AND REALISATION
FRIDAY MARCH 10 – SUNDAY MARCH 12, 2023


“Probably one of the worst things that happened to photography is that cameras have viewfinders.” – John Baldessari

Clare Strand’s working practice embraces Absurdist and Surrealist approaches – advocating the irrational, the unplanned and the automated. Her constantly evolving practice brings together intensive research, deadpan humour and insights into popular culture, encompassing the sublime to the ridiculous. Recent works include machines to encourage entropy, web programs, looped films, fairground stalls, paintings and intricate photographic constructions focusing on, subverting, reimagining and manipulating the origins of the medium.

This 3-day workshop will encourage you to explore random and intuitive imagery that goes beyond conventional ideas of research and logical thinking. It is ideal for those who want to challenge their usual ways of visualising and who wish to expand their practice into new and challenging areas. If you’ve reached a sticking point this could be a chance to get unstuck. This workshop invites active participation within a broad-minded and safe space. We will welcome ‘mistakes’ and salute the unknown, whilst uncovering new trajectories within your current practice. Participants are also invited to bring an ongoing body of work for the group and individual discussion.


SCHEDULE: Meets online on the following days and times:
Friday, March 10: 8-11am (Los Angeles), 11am-2pm (New York), 4-7pm (London)
Saturday, March 11: 8am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
Sunday, March 12: 8am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
All times include breaks. A list of materials to prepare, upload portfolio page links & Zoom classroom logins will be provided a week before the start of class.

STRUCTURE: Artist lead lecture(s) and directed activities + Group-based critiques

Note: Enrolment is limited to 10 participants.


Cover image © Clare Strand. From the series Skirts, 2011.

© Clare Strand, Girl in Two Halves, 2008. From the series Conjurations.

© Clare Strand, Flatland Spaceland. Installation shot: 2012.
3D geometric shapes constructed out of photographic paper.

© Clare Strand, The Discrete Channel with Noise: Information Source #7, 2018.

© Clare Strand, The Discrete Channel with Noise : Algorithmic Painting; Destination, 2018.

ABOUT CLARE STRAND


Clare Strand is an artist, who works with and against the photographic medium. She often rejects the subject-based qualities and the immediate demand of information, so often associated with the photographic image and instead, and without apology, adopts and welcomes a subtle, slow-burn approach. Clare has exhibited in many solo and group shows including venues such as  The Museum Folkwang; The Center Pompidou; Tate Britain; Salzburg Museum of Modern Art and the Victoria and Albert Museum. Her work is held in the collections of MOMA; SFMoma; The V&A; The Center Pompidou; The British Council; McEvoy Collection; The Arts Council; The NY Public Library; The Uni Credit Bank; The Mead Museum and Cornell University. Strand was one of the four nominees for the Deutsche Borse prize in 2020. She is represented by Parrotta Contemporary, Cologne. To date she has produced 4 publications, Clare Strand Monograph published by Steidl (2009), Skirts published by GOST (2014), Girl Plays with Snake published by MACK (2017) and Negatives: Fun with Clare Strand’s photography published by Multi-press.

https://www.clarestrand.co.uk/
@strandclare