MARK MCKNIGHT: "RHYME, REPETITION, AND RHYTHM: PHOTOGRAPHY AND POETRY"

THIS CLASS IS NOW PAST

ONLINE MASTERCLASS WITH MARK MCKNIGHT
“RHYME, REPETITION, AND RHYTHM: PHOTOGRAPHY AND POETRY”
FRI. MARCH 19 – SUN. MARCH 21, 2021


Following an instructor lecture and assigned readings, students will spend several days in an in-depth workshop that supports a re-examination of their work through the lens of poetry. Students will probe the use of visual rhyme, repetition, and rhythm as a means of manufacturing meaning through the photographic sequence. In addition, the course will explore the poetic potential of scale, titles, and text + image to transform their work in gallery and book formats.

SCHEDULE: Meets online on the following days and times:
Friday, March 19, 8-11am (Los Angeles), 11am-2pm (New York), 4-7pm (London)
Saturday, March 20, 8am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
Sunday, March 218am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)

A list of materials to prepare, upload portfolio page links & Zoom classroom logins will be provided a week before the start of class.


Cover image: © Mark McKnight, …if water forgets how to play mirror, 2018, from the series Decreation (32 x 40 in. gelatin silver print)

© Mark McKnight, Burned Map (or: Body), 2019, from the series Decreation (32 x 40 in. gelatin silver print)

© Mark McKnight, Earthskin, 2018, from the series Decreation (15 7/8 x 19 7/8 in. gelatin silver print)

© Mark McKnight, Decreation I, 2019 (15 7/8 x 19 7.8 in. gelatin silver print)

© Mark McKnight, Bodyfold, 2019, from the series Decreation (19 1/8 x 23 3/8 in. gelatin silver print)

ABOUT MARK MCKNIGHT


Photo by Ian Byers-Gamber

Mark McKnight (b. Los Angeles, CA) is an artist whose work has been exhibited internationally. His work has been written about in Interview, The New  Yorker, GQ, Aperture, Art in America, i-D, British Journal of Photography, and BOMB Magazine, among others. In 2009, Mark traveled to Finland on a Fulbright Scholarship. Additional residencies include Light Work (2019) and Storm King Art Center (2017). Mark is the recipient of the 2019 Aperture Portfolio Prize, The 2020 Light Work Photo Book Award, and a 2020 Rema Hort Mann Emerging Artist Grant. His work is in the collection of The Henry Art Gallery, Seattle and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. His first monograph Heaven is a Prison, was published by Loose Joints in September 2020. In February 2021 McKnight’s work will be the subject of concurrent solo exhibitions at Klaus von Nichtssagend (NYC) and Park View / Paul Soto (LA).

Instagram | Website