MATT BLACK: "YOU AND THE WORLD: FROM PERSONAL TO UNIVERSAL"

CLASS PASSED. REGISTRATIONS ARE CLOSED.

ONLINE MASTERCLASS WITH MATT BLACK
“YOU AND THE WORLD: FROM PERSONAL TO UNIVERSAL”
FRIDAY APRIL 16 – SUNDAY APRIL 18, 2021


Join photographer Matt Black for an intensive weekend workshop designed to challenge and assist you to develop and sharpen your photographic relationship to the world through your work.  Designed both for those looking to deepen an existing project or to start something new, Matt will challenge you to think about your work critically and consider your vision, your voice, and its role in the public sphere.
Examining Matt’s methods and projects as a jumping-off point, the class will feature discussions and exchanges designed to challenge you to reflect upon your photography and how you see your work serving to advance public dialogue.  The intersection of personal and public, the documentary vs. the interpretive, and the historical vs the contemporary will be discussed as we strive to bring our work from a private vision to a larger, more universal story aligning with our values and personalities.
The class starts with a lecture on Friday night covering Matt’s early work as a photographer to his present-day projects.  On Saturday, we look at and discuss participants’ portfolios to date.  On Sunday, we share additional work, while mapping out potential trajectories moving forward post-workshop.


SCHEDULE: Meets online on the following days and times:
Friday, April 16, 9am-noon (Los Angeles), noon-3pm (New York), 5-8pm (London)
Saturday, April 17, 8am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
Sunday, April 18, 8am-2pm (Los Angeles), 11am-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)


Cover image: © Matt Black, York, Pennsylvania, 2015.

© Matt Black, Modesto, California. 2014.

© Matt Black, Fresno, California. 2014.

© Matt Black, Buffalo, New York. 2015.

© Matt Black, El Paso, Texas. 2015.

ABOUT MATT BLACK


Matt Black is from California’s Central Valley, a rural, agricultural area in the heart of the state. He has travelled over 100,000 miles across 46 states for his project American Geography.  Other works include The Dry Land, about the impact of drought on California’s agricultural communities, and The Monster in the Mountains, about the disappearance of 43 students in the southern Mexican state of Guerrero. Both these projects, accompanied by short films, were published by The New Yorker. His work has appeared regularly in TIME Magazine, The New Yorker, The California Sunday Magazine, and other publications.  He has been honored three times by the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Prize, including their top honor for journalism. In 2015, he received the W. Eugene Smith Memorial Award for Humanistic Photography, and was named a senior fellow at the Emerson Collective. He is a member of Magnum Photos.

Instagram | Website