MESH ONLINE MASTERCLASS WITH GUEST CURATORS REBECCA MORSE (LACMA) AND LINSEY YOUNG (TATE)

SHOW YOUR WORK TO PRESTIGIOUS CURATORS! APPLY (FREE) BY FEB.25!

MESH MASTERCLASS: MARCH 5-7 + 12-14


In complement to the inaugural MESH Exhibition at The Polygon Gallery in Vancouver, BC, Canada, FotoFilmic is excited to offer the global art community the unique opportunity to engage in invaluable conversations with its two world-class curators, each responsible for numerous other acclaimed exhibitions at the prestigious institutions they call home, namely the LACMA (Rebecca Morse), and Tate Britain (Linsey Young).

The MESH online masterclass invites 2 groups of 10 photographers and visual artists to kick off 2021 by receiving loads of groundbreaking inspiration and visionary feedback on their work, while getting a more intimate understanding of the contemporary curatorial practices that often occupy a deciding role on professional artistic careers today. Scheduled during the 2 consecutive weekends, the class will consist of two 90-minute curatorial lectures with Q&As held by the guest curators on Fridays (see lecture topic details below), followed by 2 days of group critiques and discussions with each curator spread on 2 consecutive weekends (see full schedule below).

Both the lectures and reviews will be hosted online by FotoFilmic, who will manage access to their virtual classroom as well as provide individual portfolio pages on their platform for participants to upload their work and information before the start of class.


Cover image: © Thomas Joshua Cooper, Evening, Day Four—The Caribbean Sea, Cabo San Román, the Península de Paraguaná, Falcón, Venezuela, the Northeast‑Most Point of Continental South America , 2005, printed 2015, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, gift of Lannan Foundation, © Thomas Joshua Cooper, digital image courtesy of the artist

© Photos courtesy of Tate Britain and Linsey Young

SCHEDULE

Participants will be divided into 2 groups (Group A & B) during their weekend review sessions with Rebecca and Linsey. Both Groups attend the Friday lectures together at the same time.

GROUP A+B

Friday, March 5
10-11:30am (Los Angeles), 1-2:30pm (New York), 6-7:30pm (London)
Lecture + Q&A by LACMA Curator Rebecca Morse

Friday, March 12
9-9:30am (Los Angeles), 12-1:30pm (New York), 5-6:30pm (London)
Lecture + Q&A by Tate Curator Linsey Young

GROUP A

Saturday, March 6
8-2pm (Los Angeles), 11-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
Group review sessions with LACMA Curator Rebecca Morse

Saturday, March 13
7-1pm (Los Angeles), 10-4pm (New York), 3-9pm (London)
Group review sessions with Tate Curator Linsey Young

GROUP B

Sunday, March 7
8-2pm (Los Angeles), 11-5pm (New York), 4-10pm (London)
Group review sessions with LACMA Curator Rebecca Morse

Sunday, March 14
7-1pm (Los Angeles), 10-4pm (New York), 3-9pm (London)
Group review sessions with Tate Curator Linsey Young

REBECCA MORSE (USA)

Rebecca Morse is Curator in the Wallis Annenberg Photography Department at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Recent projects include Sarah Charlesworth: Doubleworld and Larry Sultan: Here and Home. She was previously Associate Curator at The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (MOCA) where she organized Amanda Ross Ho: Teeny Tiny Woman, Cai Guo-Qiang: Ladder to the SkyRodarte: States of MatterThe Artist’s Museum, and Florian Maier-Aichen. Upcoming projects include a thirty-year retrospective of the work of Thomas Joshua Cooper and Objects of Desire: Photography and the Language of Advertising that examines the ways in which artists have mined the language of commercial photography for their own work. She has written on Sarah Charlesworth, the evolving relationship between photography and sculpture, contemporary photography and the hotel, and photography’s changing role in contemporary art beginning in the 1980s.


CURATORIAL LECTURE:
Friday Jan 8, 10-11:30am (Los Angeles time)

Rebecca Morse will discuss her most recent exhibition Thomas Joshua Cooper: The World’s Edge, and two upcoming exhibitions Objects of Desire: Photography and the Language of Advertising and Barbara Kruger: Thinking About You, I Mean Me, I Mean You. Together these three shows reveal the ways in which contemporary artists push the medium of photography while tackling issues of climate change, the over commodification of daily life, and the escalation of runaway power and inequality. 

 

LINSEY YOUNG (UK)

Since 2016, Linsey Young has has been Curator of British Contemporary Art at Tate Britain. She has worked with such influential artists as Pablo Bronstein, Martin Boyce, Rachel Whiteread and Anthea Hamilton, has been the lead curator of the Turner Prize, and has contributed to the development of collection displays, the Tate Britain film programme and Art Now exhibitions. Linsey was commissioner and curator of Scotland+Venice 2019, presenting Charlotte Prodger at the 58th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia. Since 2013 Linsey has run the itinerant not for profit project, YOUNG TEAM.


CURATORIAL LECTURE:
Friday January 15, 5-6:30pm (London time)

Surfacing a British Feminist art history
Curator Linsey Young is currently developing ‘Typical Girls: Art, Activism and the Women’s Movement in the UK 1970 – 1988’ a major exhibition for Tate Britain that will focus on collaborative and community led practice by women during a period of seismic social and political change within the United Kingdom. This lecture will explore how an exhibition of this nature takes shape including a discussion of feminist research methodologies, the complexities of presenting activism within institutions and approaches to non hierarchical display in addition to a general overview of the artists and themes within the exhibition.

MESH MASTERCLASS DETAILS & FAQ

TUITIONS & APPLICATION DEADLINES

Applications Deadline: FEB 25
Tuition: $395.00 USD

APPLICATION PROCESS & REQUIREMENTS

Applications to be considered to take part to the MESH Online Masterclass are free (no fee to apply). While the class is mostly intended for advanced and mid-career photographers & visual artists, everyone is welcome to apply regardless of educational background and past experiences/achievements. A comprehensive portfolio of work must be submitted as a prerequisite for the two group review weekends. Participation to both lectures and weekend review sessions is mandatory (no partial enrolment allowed).

REGISTRATION PAYMENT & DEADLINE

Upon being invited to register a $200.00 USD tuition deposit will be required in order to confirm your selection. Remaining tuition balances will be due in full by February 25, 2021 by Midnight PST.

CANCELLATIONS & WITHDRAWALS

The deadline for selected participants to withdraw from the MESH Masterclass and request a refund is Sunday, February 21, 2021 at Midnight PST. Withdrawals received past the deadline will not be eligible for any refunds. Please note all withdrawals are subject to a $200 USD cancelation fee. 

QUESTIONS/CONTACT

For any further questions or inquiries about the MESH Online Retreat, please contact FotoFilmic Co-Director Bastien Desfriches Doria directly at bastien@fotofilmic.combastien@fotofilmic.com

APPLICATION FORM (FREE TO APPLY)

  • Enter N/A if not applicable
  • Enter N/A if not applicable
  • 10 images max, 1500 pixels width max, 72 dpi. Note: When uploading your work, the red "x" tab indicates that your files were uploaded successfully. Only click on the red "x" tab if you need to remove/edit your files before completing your submission.
    Drop files here or
    • SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION FORM

      Please review your information and click SUBMIT to send us your application and access our confirmation page. There is no cost to apply but should you be selected, a $200USD deposit payment will be required to secure your seat.